• Psychedelics - assisted psychotherapy in

    Louisiana

    Despite the huge therapeutic potential, psychedelic-assisted psychotherapy is not part of standard medical care yet. Self-medicating with psychedelics can produce undesired results, but despite that, more and more people feel disappointed with the efficacy of the current treatments and they turn to risky, but potentially more beneficial psychedelic-assisted therapy. The goal of this guide is harm reduction for people, who decided to self-medicate, we don’t encourage possession or consumption of illicit substances even for therapeutic endeavours.

    Book the online counseling Psychedelic integration
Legal status of psychedelics in Louisiana

Drug possession is a crime, and those who are busted can face felony or misdemeanor charges. Possession of larger quantities of controlled drugs aggravates the condition. The type of drug you had in your possession, the amount you had in your possession, and a variety of other factors all play a role in whether you face criminal charges.

In Louisiana, simple drug possession charges will result in a five-year prison term and a $5,000 fine. Simple drug possession is a misdemeanor, but it can also be a felony in some cases. These circumstances are commonly referred to as aggravating factors by lawyers and courts. The following are the most common aggravating factors under Louisiana law:

Possession in a drug – free zone:

  • Schools
  • Drug treatment facilities
  • Religious buildings
  • Public housing
  • Child daycare centers

Schedule I drug-related crimes typically carry the harshest penalties because these substances have no accepted medical use and have the highest potential for abuse. Some examples include LSD and Psilocybin.

Possession of 28 grams or more of a Schedule I drug besides cannabis and cannabis derivatives carries a minimum one-year prison sentence and a maximum sentence of 20 years and $50,000. Possession of 28 grams or more of a Schedule II drug also carries a minimum one-year prison sentence and a fine up to $50,000.

The safest way to obtain psychedelics in Louisiana

Psilocybin spores are technically legal in Louisiana, so one can discretely cultivate a small number of shrooms for personal use.

Psychedelics – assisted psychotherapy in Louisiana

It is unlikely that Louisiana will adopt more progressive psychedelics policies in the near future. Given the state’s reluctance to address outdated marijuana laws, they will likely be one of the last jurisdictions to adopt a decriminalization policy for classic psychedelics.